Abortion in Florida

Yes, with restrictions

Yes, abortion remains legal in Florida. However, Florida bans abortion after 15 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy and has imposed other restrictions that limit access to abortion care.

To determine how far along you are in pregnancy, count from the first day of your last menstrual period.

15 week, 6 day ban

Florida bans abortions after 15 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy, with limited exceptions. This law went into effect on July 1, 2022.

24-hour waiting period

Florida also requires a 24-hour waiting period before getting an abortion. This requires making two trips to the abortion provider.

Parental consent for minors

If you are under 18, you must obtain consent from a parent or legal guardian to get an abortion in Florida. Alternatively, you can seek a judicial bypass.

Getting an abortion

15 weeks, 6 days or less

If you are 15 weeks, 6 days pregnant or less, you can legally get an abortion in Florida. However, many providers have stopped offering abortions earlier than 15 weeks, 6 days due to the new ban.

If you are under 18, you will need parental consent or judicial bypass.

After 15 weeks, 6 days

If you are past 15 weeks, 6 days pregnant, abortion is banned in Florida except in certain medical circumstances. However, you can travel out of state to obtain an abortion.

Out of state

You have the option to travel outside Florida to get an abortion care. Our site can help you find an abortion provider in another state.


Florida has imposed significant restrictions on abortion access. The 15-week ban prohibits the majority of second-trimester abortions. These limitations can force patients to travel long distances out of state to access care. If additional restrictions are enacted, access may be further limited. Support organizations remain available to help patients navigate the process.

See also  Abortion in Wyoming


What week does Florida ban abortion?

Florida bans abortion after 15 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy.

Do you need parental consent for abortion in Florida?

Yes, if under 18 you need a parent’s consent or judicial bypass to get an abortion.

Can you get an abortion after 15 weeks in Florida?

No, unless it is medically necessary due to health risks or fetal anomalies. You would need to travel out of state.

Is abortion completely illegal in Florida?

No, abortion remains legal up to 15 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy. However, Florida has banned the majority of second-trimester abortions.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *